

Ken Wright – Mayor
Denis Shortal – City Council Post 1
Adrian Bonser – City Council Post 2
Tom Taylor – City Council Post 3
Robert Wittenstein – City Council Post 4
Danny Ross – City Council Post 5
John Heneghan – City Council Post 6

Warren Hutmacher – City Manager Brian Anderson – City Attorney

MEMO

Date: November 16, 2009

To: City of Dunwoody City Council

Re: City of Dunwoody designation as "Certified City of Ethics"

The Georgia Municipal Association (GMA) initiated an Ethics Task force in 1998 to address issues in several Georgia municipalities of failing confidence in public officials. Over the next decade, the GMA developed a certification program to recognize cities who adopt the suggested guidelines and principles for an ethical government.

To be recognized as a "Certified City of Ethics," the city and its governing authority must adopt a resolution subscribing to five ethics principles that will be used to govern the conduct of all elected officials.

These five principles are:

- Serve others, not ourselves
- Use resources with efficiency and economy
- Treat all people fairly
- Use the power of our position for the well being of our constituents
- Create an environment of honesty, openness and integrity

The second requirement to earn the "City of Ethics" certification is the adoption of an ethics ordinance. The City of Dunwoody has already adopted a code of ethics included as chapter 9 of the Dunwoody Code of Ordinances. Once the city has adopted both the resolution and ordinance, copies of each are submitted to GMA for review and if it is determined the city has met both requirements the City of Dunwoody will be designated as a "Certified City of Ethics."

Each city designated as a "Certified City of Ethics" receives a plaque and seal logo, which can be incorporated into city stationery, road signs and other materials at the city's discretion. In addition, GMA will send press releases to the local media notifying them that the city has earned this designation.

-MORE-



Ken Wright – Mayor
Denis Shortal – City Council Post 1
Adrian Bonser – City Council Post 2
Tom Taylor – City Council Post 3
Robert Wittenstein – City Council Post 4
Danny Ross – City Council Post 5
John Heneghan – City Council Post 6

Warren Hutmacher – City Manager Brian Anderson – City Attorney

Other cities who have earned this distinction include: Alpharetta, Buford, Duluth, Roswell, Sandy Springs, and others totaling 207 cities state wide.

#